Goodbye, Good Luck, or Godspeed?

If you were leaving home for the first time, what would your father’s last words be? Would they be something like this?                                                                                                                                                  Son,                                                                                                                                                               I have watched you grow up and tried to be the best father I could be, pouring my love, my time, and my life into your life……  (B. Kunker) 

I watched you in all your activities, doing the best you could.  I have seen you earnestly seek after God.  You have asked questions and wanted to learn more about Him and His greatness.  I am so proud of you.  I have helped you with many things and will always be there to support you.

You have been a joy in my life.  No matter what anyone might tell you or think of you, you are special to me, created by the same Being who breathed the stars; He is, and will always be, holding you together.  It doesn’t matter what you may do, I will always love you and so will God.  I don’t ever want you to feel like you are not important or that you are useless.  In Jeremiah 29:11 God says that He has a plan for your life and it is a good plan to help you.  I believe that as well.  I believe He will use you in extraordinary ways if you allow Him.

Many times I have wondered if I taught and led you in the right path.  But then I remember all the people who you have helped, cared for, talked to, loved and even led to Christ.  It’s then I realize I have.  You have a servant’s heart, always thinking about the needs and comfort of others before your own.  You are just like Abel always giving God your best and wanting to please and honor Him.  You are just like Abraham willing to give up anything for God if He just asked.

You have so much more strength and faith in God then I do.  When your mom died you understood it better then I did.  You are like Job, you understood that it happened for a reason and still praised God while I was mad at God for years.  Many of your friends saw how peaceful and calm you were and wanted to know why.  It was a perfect time to better explain about God’s love and the sacrifice He made for mankind.  Three of them became Christians after that, and then I understood why she died– but I was still mad at God for some time after.

I am so proud of how you have helped me raise your younger brother.  Without your help it would have been harder for me.  You have always cared for and loved him.  He looks up to you and wants to be like you– just like you want to be like Jesus.  I just know you will be a great father some day.

As you go off to college I want you to remember four things.  Always do your best in anything for God.  Never give up on yourself.  Never stop believing in God.  No matter what you do, do it to please and bring honor to God.  I will miss you tremendously and will always be thinking of you.  Have a fun time, make new friends, and grow and experience God in new ways.

In Christ Alone,                                                                                                                                   Dad

good bye

Explore posts in the same categories: Catch-All

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

